Highland Curry Powder

HGH CurryNothing satisfies me more than assembling the raw ingredients to concoct something that saves me a LOT of money from buying the ready-made product.  This is one simple thing that I do because it gives me a lot of flexibility on the ingredients each time I make it.

Prepared Curry Powders are just a combination of individual spices.  You can make your own from the individual spices, and add your own unique flair.  I experimented a bit with some recipes but found that I liked mine a little hotter and with a stronger Cumin flavor.

I never buy spices at full price!  You will often find the 2 for 1 deals at major supermarkets and that is the time where you stock up on the more expensive specialty spices.   Things that I use a lot of like chili powder, cumin, cinnamon or ground mustard can be purchased at Costco or be bought in bulk at a 75% or more discount from the regular price small bottles.

This is the one I now use.  Anyone who has had my Chicken Fried Rice knows how tasty this is!  The recipe below fills a standard tall spice jar.

Highland Curry Powder

2 tbsp. Ground Cumin

2 tbsp. ground Coriander Seed

2 tsp. Turmeric

1 tsp. Cayenne

1 tsp. Ground Mustard

1 tsp. Ground Cardamon

Mix these up and store in an air tight jar.

Dennis’til next time,
Dennis George
Highland Garden House B & B
501 E. Highland Ave.
Mount Vernon, WA 98273
(You may Share this Post by clicking ‘Comment’ or ‘Leave a comment’)

This entry was posted in B and B Income Increasers, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Your comment (only a name is required):

